Office Background

General Organisation

The General Assembly is the highest governing body of Association of European Travel and Tourism Agencies (AETTA). The General Assembly is held once a year and has the power to decide on most important areas of the life of AETTA including membership, annual budget and appointment of the President and the Secretary General. The General Assembly also determines the objectives and specific areas to be addressed by AETTA. All the decisions are taken by the simple majority of the votes cast by strategic members.

The President is elected among the strategic members of the Association for a two-year term on a rotating basis. The decisions taken by AETTA's General Assembly are executed by the Secretary General under the supervision of the President. The Secretary General is supported by staff and five research groups dedicated to safety and security, environment, transport, competition and infrastructure. The research groups are coordinated by an AETTA staff member and consist of representatives of strategic members.

Structure 2024

President: Claude Dushenay, Vacances Alpines, Secretary General: Helmut Messner

Public Relations Manager: Alexandra Goodwin, Finance and Administrative Manager: Andreas Wagner, Safety & Security Task Force Coordinator: Eric Kowalski, Transport Task Force Coordinator: Boris Artman, Competition Task Force Coordinator: Eduard Wurzman, Environment Task Force Coordinator: Linda Jaquin, Infrastructure Task Force Coordinator: Bretta Bonnet

AETTA has been the powerful and respected voice of the European travel and tourism sector for over 20 years.
Brussels Background